khrishna grace

Just an analog girl in a digital world…

Black Fire

Black Fire

Today I decided to be my true blackness

To feel beautiful and free

My fire raging out of its cage

Thick and nappy as can be…

And I know it doesn’t fall as theirs does

And I know it’s awfully thick

But it rages like the wind never could

In velvet, blackness, rich…

My plastic chains are broken

My conformity is free

Because this fire is raging out of its cage

Thick and nappy as can be…

And when they call it “Wild”

“Can I touch it?”, “Is it real?”

I hope it burns their fingers

I hope it cuts like steal…

Because my fire is a fire once their own

Long ago and hidden in the marrow of their bones

But they’ll never recognize it

Because color is taboo

Blackness is existence and Black therefore is truth….

So my cage will remain open

Down their throats the flame shall be

The fire raging out of its cage

Thick, nappy and free…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

